World Series Tickets

The MLB to also hold the first role of league, popularly known under the name of the “traditional one of middle of the summer” is an annual play of baseball between the players of the national league and the American league, currently chosen by voice of ventilator for the players of starting position and by the director (directors of the series of the world of previous year) for jugs and players of reservation. The play All-to hold the first role occurs usually inside early with mid-July and mark the point halfway symbolic system in the principal season of the baseball of league (MLB) (however not the point halfway mathematical; in the majority of the seasons, the play really takes place after approximately 55% of the season were accomplished), and since 2003 it was employed to determine the advantage at the house of field for the nearest series of the world. The most recent game all-to hold the first role was played July 11, 2006, with the park of PNC, house of the pirates of Pittsburgh with Pittsburgh.

The first All-Star Game was held as part of the 1933 World’s Fair in Chicago, Illinois, and was the brainchild of Arch Ward, then sports editor for The Chicago Tribune. Initially intended to be a one-time event, its great success resulted in making the game an annual one.

The venue is chosen by Major League Baseball and traditionally alternates between the two leagues every year (this tradition was first broken in 1951, when the Detroit Tigers were chosen to host the annual game as part of the city’s 250th birthday at Briggs Stadium, and will be broken again in 2007, when the San Francisco Giants will be the host for the 2007 All-Star Game). The “home team” is the league in which the host franchise plays its games. The criteria for choosing the venue are subjective; for the most part, cities with new parks and cities who have not hosted the game in a long time–or ever–tend to get the nod. The last All-Star Game to be played in a stadium that was not hosting its first All-Star Game was the 1999 game in Boston’s Fenway Park.

To date, only three franchises have never hosted a game: the Florida Marlins, the Arizona Diamondbacks, and the Tampa Bay Devil Rays (the Washington Nationals hosted the game when they were the Montreal Expos). In the last thirty years the Chicago White Sox, Cleveland Indians, San Diego Padres, and Philadelphia Phillies have all hosted the All-Star Game twice, during which time the New York Mets, St. Louis Cardinals, and Kansas City Royals have not hosted it.

The designated hitter rule is applied based on the league in which the host team plays. In an American League ballpark, both teams use a designated hitter to hit for the pitcher. In a National League ballpark, lineups schedule the pitcher to hit, though pinch hitters are almost always used. The last instance in which a pitcher took his scheduled at-bat was in 2004, as the American League lineup batted around in the first inning, enabling AL starter Mark Mulder to bat. He was not eligible to be replaced by a pinch hitter, as the starting pitcher in any game must pitch to the first spot in the batting order.

Buy World Series Tickets


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: